Chefs on Parade

By: Mr. Karl Recio Baroro, MBA

As part of the College Week of Colegio de San Juan de Letran Manila, the Letran Culinary, Hospitality, Events, and Flair tending Society hosted the Annual Chefs on Parade held on December 19, 2018. The event was graced by the different Senior high school and College student competitors from Letran Manila, Letran Calamba, and Letran Bataan.

The annual event is comprised of different skills competition that aims to showcase the application of classroom learning in the field of Hospitality Management.

Hotel and Restaurant Management Students of the Colegio ranked First Place for Letrapprentice, with Anthony Gerlan Medrano, 4th year BSHRM student together with Rev. Fr. Napoleon Encarnacion as competitors; Table set-up with centerpiece, with Danica Leigh Datoon, Krisxan Alcazar, and JD Perez, 4th year BSHRM Students as competitors; Creative Dessert Making Competition, with Tracy Bergola and Anton Alfonso, 4th year BSHRM students as competitors; Waiter’s Relay with Jeffrey Nierva, , Ryan Paul Borsigue, Brandon Gillaco, Liezel Pacia, and AJ Pamintuan 4th year BSHRM students, as contenders; Cocktail Mixing competition with Joshua Delos Santos, 4th year BSHRM student, as contender; Mocktail Mixing Competition with Thanya Palmos, 4th year BSHRM student, as contender; and Creative Pasta Making with Patrick Zarvie Juliano, 4th year BSHRM student, as competitor.

The Colegio also ranked Second Place on Creative Cake Decoration participated by Lindsay Ibañez, Princess Joice Tuiza, 4th year BSHRM Students, and Leonard Lincoln Buan, 3rd year BSHRM Student; Table Napkin Folding Competition participated by John Karlo Camat, 4th year BSHRM student; and Creative Cupcake Making participated by Jam Calica, 3rd year BSHRM student, and John Carlo Postrado, 4th year BSHRM student.

The School of Tourism and Hospitality Management headed by Dr. Maria Victoria Rosas, Ms. Kamlesh Devi C. Dhutti, Chair, our Laboratory Assistant, Ms. Irish Aranzaso, the coaches who trained the student competitors- Mr. Jhonnel Abalajon, Mr. Julian Roman Bautista, Mr. Edwin Sanchez, and Mr. Karl Baroro, and the STHM Student Council officers headed by Danica Leigh Datoon, together with The Hospitality Management Students’ Society officers headed by Joanna Fuentebella were present during the event to show the support to our student competitors.

Given all the bagged awards, the Colegio was hailed Over-all Champion for the said annual competition.

Indeed, the theories instilled to the students inside the classroom manifests in the Excellence that is continually achieved.

Date Posted: February 26, 2019